151,078 members

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Healthcare Science

#HCS15 Healthcare Science Awards


#HCS15 Healthcare Science Awards

Details of the 24 finalists across the 10 categories of the 2015 Healthcare Science Awards have been released. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on the evening of 16th March 2015.

The finalists for the ten categories are as follows:

Workforce Innovation

  • Dr Ann Dalton, Clinical Director, Sheffield Diagnostic Genetics Service,
  • Jonathan Applebee & The Clinical Technology Team, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Service Innovation

  • Mike Weinbrem and Naomi Thompson, Pathology Department, Chesterfield Royal Hospital
  • Prof Art Tucker, Medical Devices/Cinical Researcher, Bartholomew’s Hospital

Patient involvement

  • Linda Birkitt, Specialist Cardiac Physiologist lead, Cardiology, Leeds
  • Nicola Hodges, Biomedical Scientist, Pathology, Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust


  • Science4U Organising Committee, Great Ormond Street Hospital, London
  • The Principle Instigators of the Central Manchester University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Healthcare Science Education Forum

Special award: Public Engagement

  • Matt Dunn, Head of Radiology Physics, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS
  • University Hospitals Birmingham (UHB) Medical Physics Outreach Team

Rising star – Physiological services

  • Sarah Kelly, Clinical Scientist, Department of GI Physiology, Northern General Hospital
  • Jennifer Fahy, Audiologist, Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Amy Fairhurst, STP, Manchester Heart Centre, Central Manchester University Hospitals

Rising star – Life Sciences

  • Jessica Norton, Trainee Healthcare Scientist, Wessex Regional Genetics Laboratory, Salisbury District Hospital, South and Millie Mitchell, Trainee Embryologist, Fertility Department, Salisbury District Hospital
  • Elaine Cloutman-Green, Infection Prevention and Control Practitioner, Great Ormond Street Hospital
  • Lowri Hughes, Clinical Scientist, West Midlands Regional Genetics Laboratory, Birmingham Women’s NHS Foundation Trust

Rising star – Physical Sciences and Engineering

  • Thomas Butterfield, Clinical Scientist Department of Medical Physics, I Floor, Royal Hallamshire Hospital
  • Sarah Bartram, Trainee Clinical Scientist, Medical Physics Department, The James Cook University Hospital
  • Michaella Wiltshire, Equipment Library Technician, Medical Engineering & Physics, King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Leanne Price, Pre-Registration Clinical Scientist, Nuclear Medicine,  London North West Healthcare NHS Trust

Organisational Lead Scientist

  • Christine White, Head of Radiology Physics, Pathology, Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
  • Satpal Singh, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust

Healthcare Scientist of the Year

  • Joanna Young, Quality, Contracts & Training Manager, Medical Engineering & Physics, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Angela Douglas, Scientific Director, North West Coast Genomic Medicine Centre, Liverpool Women’s Hospital, North West