100,717 members

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Home > Networks > Emergency Laparotomy Network > Message Board > Emergency Laparotomy Forum > Audit of Surgeon's activity in emergency laparotomies

Emergency Laparotomy Network

Emergency Laparotomy Forum

Audit of Surgeon's activity in emergency laparotomies

Up to Emergency Laparotomy Forum
May 29. 2011
Nebil Behar

Hello everyone, just joined this network after coming across it at ASGBI Bournemouth this month.

I am an emergency surgeon in London. As a consultant I lead and train juniors in emergency surgery at Chelsea & Westminster Hospital and therefore run the cepod list every morning. I have started looking at ways of auditing my work beyond the monthly M&M meetings;

1. Trying to assess the optimum ratio of laparoscopy vs laparotomy

2. Emergency Surgical Decision Making by Juniors and Consultants

are two areas we started here which are relevant to outcomes in emergency laparotomy.

I was wondering if anyone else had any audit ideas involving training and surgical practice in emergency surgery similar to above they have used successfully?

Nebil Behar

October 19. 2011
Alistair Myers

I am a colorectal/emergency surgeon at Hillingdon, and have been wondering about the same things. Did you ever get any answers? We have been trying to work a thing to measure, equivalent to the #NOF pathway.

October 19. 2011
Nebil Behar